Fist of the North Star

Top 10 Comic Book Movies… in my own humble opinion

I’ve spent a while deciding which my favourite comic book movie is. Its a hard choice and one which no doubt will change over the years as new movies come out and as time changes the way I feel about the characters. I’ve put my own personal top 10 list together. We may discuss this on the podcast at some point but for now here we go.

Number 10: The Fist of the North Star

fistofthn

This Manga Entertainment film from 1986 was the 2nd Manga film I watched. The first was the classic Akira. I remember reading 2000AD during the early 90’s (1994) and they were releasing Manga movies on VHS and advertising them within the comic. This sparked my interest as the box clearly showed extreme violence and the 18 certificate also excited my young mind. I got my mum to purchase the film for me after saving up with my paper round money and I was not disappointed.

The film follows Kenshiro, a deadly martial artist who has his fiancé kidnapped whilst they are travelling by Shin, a former friend. Kenshiro is left for dead in the deadly wastelands of a post nuclear war landscape. The story follows the fight of Kenshiro to get his fiancé back and stop the growing armies within the wastelands. That of course is a very basic run down of the movie and the story at the time didn’t really matter to a teenage me. The fighting and violence are over the top with blood spraying out in all directions and heads exploding during battles. It was unlike anything I’d seen before and I loved every bit of it.

Hokuto no Ken tankobon.jpg

The comic was released between 1983 to 1988 as a weekly serialised comic. It was then adapted into a TV series running from 1984 through to 1988 with the film made during this time by the same studio. It was also made into a live action movie but let’s not talk about that. Its well worth watching but as usual make sure its the original version and not the English dub.

Leave a Reply

