Freeway Fighter

Back in the day when I was just a little northern lad I’d sit in my bedroom reading the masterpieces that were Ian Livingstone & Steve Jacksons choose your own Fighting Fantasy books. I remember Deathtrap Dungeon being my first which took me into a world of dungeons and monsters. Over time I saved up and collected most of the books with Freeway Fighter being one of them.


Titan comics is publishing a comic series based on Freeway Fighter and after reading issue one I now want more. As soon as the comic opens it feels very Mad Max as it’s set in an open world ravaged by a virus. The story follows racing driver Bella De La Rosa and her struggles to survive.

The art is fantastic and really gives a feel for the world she is trying to live in and it feels so rugged and desolate you can understand the terror of the world. I look forward to reading more of this series and hopefully more Fighting Fantasy books turned comics in the future. 

If you enjoy Fighting Fantasy books check out our other podcast House of Geek where we are reading through an adventure each episode. 

Leave a Reply

